Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

Router on TC dead. How to use as back up hard drive only with Time Machine.

My 2TB Gen 4 (I believe. it's at least 2-3 yrs old) Time Capsule was showing solid amber light. No wifi. Tried resetting. Only solid amber light showing. Took it to a local Apple repair. Was told hard drive was still intact, but router is dead. Also told I could still use hard drive, connected to iMac through ethernet cable, to act as our backup drive for Time Machine. I'm off to buy a new router, but I have limited knowledge in the world of connectivity and want to be sure I connect iMac running Yosemite 10.10.4, Motorola modem from cable co., new Airport Extreme, and old Time Machine hard drive correctly. Any help would be appreciated.

null-OTHER

Posted on Aug 4, 2015 2:34 PM

5 replies

Aug 4, 2015 3:01 PM in response to trimarie

Unfortunately, the information that you received is very likely not correct, so you may not consider our feedback as helpful or useful.

A solid amber light is almost always an indication that the hard drive has failed and will need to be replaced.

In cases where the hard drive does not prove to be dead when a solid amber light is displayed, one of the internal power supplies has failed.

The bottom line.....I am afraid......is that you will need to have the shop look much closer and actually pull the hard drive out of the Time Capsule to see if it will work in a separate caddy or enclosure. If it does, then you will need have to have the internal power supply repaired before the Time Capsule will operate at all.

If the hard drive has failed.....which is the usual outcome with a solid amber light.....you will need to have it replaced if you want the Time Capsule to have that function. It is possible to pull the hard drive out and have the Time Capsule act only as a router......but I don't think that will help much in this situation.