Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

Just obtained a 3T Time Capsule. Following the instructions, I connected it to my router. It created a new network with no problems. I've hooked it up to Time Machine and it is going through that process smoothly, so why is amber light still blinking

New 3T Time Capsule. Network set up fine. Time Machine is working too. Why is amber light still blinking? What could be wrong?

Posted on Aug 6, 2015 3:00 PM

12 replies

Aug 6, 2015 3:18 PM in response to Kappy

Thanks for your quick reply. When I open Airport Utility, I see the image of the Time Capsule (it shows a blinking amber light to the left of it and the number 1 in a red circle to the right of it). I click on it and then click the Edit button. I'm not a techie, so I don't know what most of the stuff under the tabs is all about. I don't see anything that looks like an error message. Should I just ignore it as long as everything seems to be working?

Aug 6, 2015 3:47 PM in response to Mike's Pad

Thanks for the suggestion. Clicking on the red circle/dot just brings up the small box with the Network name, IP addresses etc and the Edit button. Clicking on the blinking amber dot gets the same result. In the box of info that pops up, there is an item named Status. Next to it is an amber dot (not blinking) with the words Double NAT. I have no idea what that means. Could that be a message?

Aug 6, 2015 5:56 PM in response to erridge

erridge wrote:

Thanks again! If "Back-to-My Mac" problems are the only consequence of this, I can live with it rather than risk taking some effort to fix it that, in my hands, could make things worse. I can just put some duct tape over the blinking light!

We are starting in the middle and trying to fix the problem without understanding the whole.

We need to know what modem router you have.. actual make and model please??