Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

I am an ER nurse and want to know if this watch can stand up to the challenge. Any nurses out there?

I would love to hear from any nurses with on the job experience with this watch.

iPhone 6, iOS 8.4.1

Posted on Aug 13, 2015 4:52 PM

Question marked as Best reply

Posted on Aug 13, 2015 5:36 PM

Since the Watch will only stay lit for 7 seconds I doubt it will work for taking a pulse.

12 replies

Aug 14, 2015 6:18 AM in response to Tomorrownight

The new Watch OS coming this fall will provide a setting to stay lit for 70 seconds which should help with the pulse issue. The watch is also more than up to the task for getting run under a faucet (in fact it's part of Apple's official suggestions for cleaning the digital crown). The thing I would be most concerned about is abrasive soaps or other chemicals. As long as you can try to avoid consistently getting it on the watch body I'd say go for it.

My wife is an ER nurse and currently has an original Pebble and does not have any issues (granted it's made out of different materials, etc). We're planning on eventually getting her one as well.

Aug 14, 2015 9:36 AM in response to IdrisSeabright

There is no such thing as 'waterproof' The term is bantered about by the media but has no meaning without context. Any watch (or device) can only be considered waterproof to it's rating. So the Apple Watch is waterproof rated to IPx7 standard (minimum 30 minutes at 1 meter). It has been proven many times that it could very well be rated ATM3 or even ATM5.

Aug 14, 2015 9:52 AM in response to William Julien2

This is what Apple says: