Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

How do i recover forgotten administrative logon info on Mac Book Pro?

I'm trying to change settings on dads computer for him but he has forgot his logon name and password. Is there any way I can fix this without taking it to Apple store? His computer is a Mac Book Pro with the latest software updates. I;m not sure about more info. I'm a computer rookie at 51.

MacBook Pro, iOS 8.3, Mac OS X Lion 10.7.5

Posted on Aug 17, 2015 10:38 AM

Question marked as Best reply

Posted on Aug 17, 2015 10:45 AM

Restart the MacBook Pro holding the Command and R keys. When the machine restarts, from the Utilities drop down on the menu bar, choose Terminal. After Terminal opens, type EXACTLY:

resetpassword

and press Enter. When the Resetpassword window has opened, highlight the internal drive, usually Macintosh HD, select the user account, and enter a new password twice. Then Save.

Accept the next dialog window that opens.

Lower right of the Resetpassword window, apply a reset of the user directory permissions.

Then click the apple left side of the menu bar, Restart.

5 replies
Question marked as Best reply

Aug 17, 2015 10:45 AM in response to df918

Restart the MacBook Pro holding the Command and R keys. When the machine restarts, from the Utilities drop down on the menu bar, choose Terminal. After Terminal opens, type EXACTLY:

resetpassword

and press Enter. When the Resetpassword window has opened, highlight the internal drive, usually Macintosh HD, select the user account, and enter a new password twice. Then Save.

Accept the next dialog window that opens.

Lower right of the Resetpassword window, apply a reset of the user directory permissions.

Then click the apple left side of the menu bar, Restart.

Aug 28, 2015 7:50 PM in response to Ralph Landry1