Apple Event: May 7th at 7 am PT

Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

In iTunes, what's the difference between Delete and Remove Download?

I have an iTunes Match subscription. When I went to delete some songs to free up some storage on my MacBook a few weeks ago, after the latest major iTunes update, I noticed that the menu options for the tracks had changed. In addition to the familiar "Delete" option was the new "Remove Download" option. What's the difference between the two options? Before the major update, I would use Delete to free up storage space. When I hit Delete, the file went to the Trash Bin and the Album stayed in my iTunes library with the little cloud symbol now present. I've tried the Remove Download option but the files never show up in the Trash Bin. I'd love to know what specifically is going on here. Thanks!

MacBook Pro with Retina display, OS X Yosemite (10.10.5), iTunes Match Subscription

Posted on Aug 17, 2015 9:07 PM

12 replies

Aug 18, 2015 1:15 AM in response to Jimzgoldfinch

Hi,

I suggest that you use the delete option so that this box appears:

User uploaded file

Then select "Remove Download" to remove from cloud or "Delete Item" to delete completely. In both options the original file should be move to trash - you no longer have option to move to trash when you use iTunes match or Apple music.

Using menu > edit > "Remove Download" seems to give inconsistent results. In some cases the track completely disappears i.e doesn't go into trash. In other instances the original file remain in original folder (like keep option).

Has anyone else seen this behaviour?

Jim

Sep 15, 2015 6:21 PM in response to Jimzgoldfinch