Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

Driver issues Windows 10 on A1181 (no headphone playback devices)

Hi there,

Please be gentle as I'm VERY new to the Mac world/community!

It took me quite some time but I finally managed to get my A1181 (Macbook 2.1) to run Windows 10 today. I couldn't get the drivers downloaded through Boot Camp (3.0.4) but I'm now up and running with the exception of the IR Remote, Camera but most importantly, I've no audio. Zero. Nada. (I'm running Snow Leopard).

I'm coming from a Windows background so I'm pretty familiar with that side of things. In device manager I've no issues showing with the "Audio inputs and outputs" nor "Sound, video and game controllers".

When I go to Sound, Playback Devices, only Speakers and Digital Audio show up, no mention of headphones. I also have the red light in the headphone socket.

I've spent hours trawling through version forums to try to resolve my audio issue but I've drawn a blank. I've tried installing a few different drivers but it shows the ones that I'm running as the most up to date.

Any suggestions please?

MacBook, Other OS

Posted on Aug 20, 2015 2:51 PM

33 replies

Aug 22, 2015 7:59 AM in response to woldranger

You have a 13-in Late 2007 Macbook. From System requirements to install Windows 7 and earlier on your Mac using Boot Camp - Apple Support, the highest you can go is Windows 7 32-bit. There are no drivers for Windows 10 for your Mac based on Use Windows 10 on your Mac with Boot Camp - Apple Support. Your Mac is also not in the official list of supported W10 Macs.

You can download the drivers from the W7 link and install them with Administrative privileges and compatibility set to W7 when install specific drivers by hand. You may still encounter errors.

Aug 22, 2015 8:05 AM in response to Loner T