Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

How do I know if my iPod Nano battery is bad?

Hi All,

I've been using my iPod nano for a few years now. I have speaker that I can put the iPod in and play. While in the speaker, the iPod charges. I left my iPod in the speaker one night and it won't play, charge or even pretend to start up. I tried to reset it but got no response. I was thinking that the battery may have burned out. I can replace it, but was wondering if there is a way to tell if the battery is bad or if something else has happened to the iPod.

Any ideas?

Thanks so much.

Paula

Posted on Aug 25, 2015 3:10 PM

1 reply

Aug 27, 2015 7:08 AM in response to Bunjean

Hello there, Bunjean.

It seems that you are unable to use or charge your iPod Nano while connected to what seems to be a speaker/docking station. The following Knowledge Base article provides some great information in regards to charging:

Charging the battery in your iPod nano - Apple Support

iPod nano has an internal rechargeable battery. To charge the battery, choose one of the options below:

• Connect the device to a power outlet using the included cable and an Apple USB power adapter (optional accessory) to charge the battery.
  • Connect the device directly to your computer (not your keyboard or USB hub) using the included USB cable. Your computer must be turned on and not in sleep or standby mode. If the device is connected to a computer that's not turned on or is in sleep or standby mode, the battery may drain.

An icon in the upper-right corner of the screen shows battery charging status. If you charge the battery while syncing or using iPod nano, it might take longer to charge.

• If using a portable computer, make sure it is plugged into power and that the lid or display is open. If the lid is closed, the computer may go into standby, sleep, or hibernation mode and iPod nano may not charge.