Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

If it works on MacBook Pro will it work on a iPad Air 2?

I've been a Mac laptop and desktop user for many years and this is my first venture into "All That's iPad" and sometimes the more I read the more I'm confused. Here's what I'd like your help with.

• I'm an author and use Word and Adobe for eBooks etc. I know I can get a keyboard for the iPad but can I get Word and Adobe Reader etc for it?
  • Are there significant drawbacks using an iPad for the above purpose?
  • What question am I not smart enough to ask. I'd love to have the iPad as my main writing tool, is that a mistake. What about FileMaker, will it work on the iPad?

I know there are so many things I need to know that I don't know how to ask about. Any help you can give me would be so much appreciated.

HJ

GarageBand (Mac) '11, OS X Mavericks (10.9.2), GarageBand (Mac) 10.0.2

Posted on Aug 27, 2015 11:35 AM

3 replies

Aug 27, 2015 11:47 AM in response to HarryGlos

I've never used Word on an iPad and the reviews I'v seen of it are generally not flattering. Apple's own Pages word processor app, which is free with an iPad purchase, is not bad at all, especially with an external BT keyboard. I do not believe that Adobe makes acrobat for iOS, but there are numerous other PDF editors/creators available (PDF Expert, GoodReader, iAnnotate PDF, etc). Adobe reader is available in the App Store.