Newsroom Update

Beginning in May, a special Today at Apple series titled “Made for Business” will offer small business owners and entrepreneurs free opportunities to learn how Apple products and services can support their growth and success. Learn more >

Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

MS Office 2010 apps requiring force quit every 20-30 minutes on client stations in a 10.10.5 Server environement

Hi all. I have been a service technician for about 5 years, but recently started supporting a medium sized office of about 25 people. They run Yosemite server. The clients are on 10.10.5 and the MS Office apps are up to date, but a lot of people in the office are having issues with slowness and MS apps freezing when working from the server. This occurs normally after a document from the server has been opened for a period of time. I suspect sometimes it has to do with the fact that there is no version control, but even for folks who are working on docs that no one else is using that day.

This all aside, are there hardware issues I should be considering? There don't seem to be any speed issues when copying data from client to NAS where all the MS documents live. It all appears to get messy when the documents are opened and being edited.

I'm looking for some advice on how to troubleshoot, but also suggestions for best practices given the setup, and easy to use open sourced software that might help. Alfresco seems to have some good opened sourced code with a healthy looking community.

It's a Mac Mini i7 Server with a Promise Pegasus attached.

Mac mini, OS X Server

Posted on Aug 28, 2015 2:51 PM

Question marked as Best reply

Posted on Aug 29, 2015 4:15 AM

I am having similar issues after just recently upgrading from Mavericks to Yosemite server. I switched from smb to afp on the user home folders and found an improvement although some clients are still reporting issues with excel not able to save.