Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

WiFi connectivity

my iphone 5 will not recognize the password on my router. I have been using he router for a couple years with this phone but it suddenly does not communicate. Why not?

iPhone 5, iOS 8.4.1

Posted on Aug 29, 2015 5:07 PM

4 replies

Aug 29, 2015 5:32 PM in response to edmills43

If you are receiving a password incorrect message or unable to join network, then your router is rejecting your iPhone. routers can reject for a number of reasons, usually because of an incorrect password. You can also have reached the max devices allowed on the router at a time, sometimes this is defaulted to 10. At the end of the day, I would try unplugging your router for about 30 seconds, then letting it both back up, also restart your iPhone. Try the password again. Also, make sure other devices can join the router by forgetting your network on the other device then reconnect.

Aug 29, 2015 7:16 PM in response to edmills43

Ed, is the phone the only device that does not connect?

Do you have a computer or an iPad and if so, do they connect?

If they do, the router is not likely the issue. I would reboot the router any way, never hurts - unplug it for about 2 minutes and then plug it back in.

Then go your phone Settings > General > Reset > Reset Network Settings.

Then do a forced restart. Hold down the Home and Wake/Sleep buttons at the same time for about 15-20 seconds until the Apple logo appears. Ignore the "Slide to power off" text if it comes up. You will not lose anything.

Then go back to Settings > Wi-Fi and add your account again.