Newsroom Update

Beginning in May, a special Today at Apple series titled “Made for Business” will offer small business owners and entrepreneurs free opportunities to learn how Apple products and services can support their growth and success. Learn more >

Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

Mac osx server 4.0 clients not logging on.

Hi Folks

New to this community so please be gentle.

I have setup the above server it sits along side a windows active directory network which it get its dhcp & dns, I have been able to logon to the server from a newly built client once, it will no longer allow me to logon from any mac on the network, I have managed to build around 30 clients from the server using netrestore.

Anyone any ideas what I may have done wrong or maybe not done.

Cheers

I am relatively new to mac server but have years of experience with standalone macs.

Mac mini, OS X Yosemite (10.10.5)

Posted on Aug 31, 2015 2:45 AM

5 replies

Aug 31, 2015 11:38 AM in response to Grant Bennet-Alder

You need to be able to lookup, both forward and reverse IP Address <--> Fully qualified three.part.name from each workstation. do not use .local or .private

You can use Network Utility.app lookup pane to do this. If you do not see it, you can find it in /System/Library/CoreServices/Applications

Once it is running Option-click on it in the Dock and choose Options > Keep in Dock.

Each network does this differently, but many Server Admins insist that you will need the DNS built into Mac OS X Server, and you will need to point each and every Workstation to it as the first DNServer.

In addition, you must have System Preferences > User & Groups > Login Options > Nework Account Server ... which must have a green light.

Aug 31, 2015 11:00 PM in response to cjpmcg2112