Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

Learning resources for an old Avid dog?

Hi everyone, I've been editing with Avid for over 10 years and am making the switch to Final Cut X which feels like a serious mountain to climb. Would be grateful for any suggested tutorials I realise there are a wealth of them online but it all feels a bit like a minefield and I'm drowning in connected clips already! I have a couple of weeks to get into it, any pointers much appreciated. Thanks in advance.

MacBook Pro (Retina, 15-inch, Mid 2015), OS X Yosemite (10.10.4)

Posted on Aug 31, 2015 4:02 AM

Question marked as Best reply

Posted on Aug 31, 2015 5:01 AM

It depends on how you learn best, Many people these days seem to be quite visual in their preferences and prefer video tutorials. And just a cursory review of these forums suggests that a lot people (particularly younger generations) are less interested in taking a structured, bottom-up learning approach than diving right in and doing things. If you want video, there are many good resources and most of them have sample tuts: Lynda dot com (a variety of trainers) , Ripple Training, Larry Jordan – to name just three names that often come up here. Vimeo has recently introduced a new, free course on the basics…I don't have any experience with it.

My preference was to work from the original Pro Certification book – then authored by Diane Weynand – now by Brendan Boykin. So I read about the basics first (the terms, the GUI, the workflow), section by section, and did the practice exercises with he sample material that comes with the book.( I also participated in a pro labs series that the local Apple store offered.) In my case, I was not under any deadline to switch and indeed was not entirely convinced I wanted to for the first several months.

The leading contributor on this forum, Tom Wolsey, has a site with a range of learning resources - some free and some paid.