Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

New to FCP X: Few Questions, No answers so far

I am new to FCP X and have been looking for a definitive answer to these question but have had no luck so far just searching online.

Question #1:

I would like to make 2 different versions of a project to see which style I like better at the end result. But when I search how to save a duplicate project I see

Duplicate Projects and Clips & Duplicate Projects as snapshots (as described in the link below)

Final Cut Pro X: Duplicate projects and clips

But I don't know which one is my best option. Both projects will have a lot of the same clips but one project might have some clips that the other does not. Which is my best route? I essentially just want to make a "Save As" and move on with the 2nd project and know what I do in that project won't screw up my original project when I go back to it and try to compare.

Question #2:

While researching the topics above I found out that FCP X apparently makes automatic back ups of my projects, and I am not talking about the fact that FCP X auto saves your project. This is an additional back up system. (as described in the link below, Paragraph #4)

Final Cut Pro X: Save, back up, and make versions of your projects

I was wondering how much disk space they take up on my HD? And if it is possible or worthwhile to turn those automatic back ups off if I am going to manually back up my projects to an external drive or something.

Question #3: