Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

Corrupted JPGs : Why and how to recover ?

Hello group,

I have been using Aperture since 2008 to manage all my pics in reference mode.

All the original jpgs are on an HD Book connected to a NAS server and Aperture library is local to my MacBook.

For speed performance I sometime connect the HD Book directly to my MacBook and that works just fine (Same mount path).

I noticed a while ago (2013+-) that some jpgs on disk were corrupted when the Aperture preview was displaying in Black with the Exclamation Mark Icon.

I attempted to see how I couldrecover those corrupted pics but never succeeded at doing so.

So I left it as an unresolved issue.

Today once again I realize that a whole bunch of jpgs are also corrupted.

This time I would really like to see how I can recover them and most importantly how many jpgs in my picture folder hierarchy have been corrupted.

I am inserting a snapshot of the Finder view of a folder with corrupted jpgs.

Notice that DSB_0047.jpg isn't corrupted but the others are (no Finder preview and error when trying to Open in Preview or Aperture).

The file sizes for corrupted pics appear normal so I wonder what may have changed the binary content.

Does anyone know:

1-How can I scan my whole disk holding the folder hierarchy of my pictures to find out which jpegs are corrupted ?

Is there a tool to perform this ?

2-What can I do to recover the corrupted pics ?

3-Could this issue be related to the a drive failure at some point or is it Aperture related ?

Thanks to all.

User uploaded file

MacBook Pro, OS X Yosemite (10.10.2)

Posted on Sep 1, 2015 4:39 PM

9 replies

Sep 3, 2015 6:32 AM in response to jmv2