Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

Connecting logic pro on macbook pro to Clavinova

I am a real novice and don't understand how to connect my logic pro on my macbook pro to my Clavinova CLP 370. I need step by step instructions.

- I have purchased and down loaded logic pro.

- I purchase USB cable, which has a USB plug on both ends.

- I have down loaded Yamaha USB-Midi driver v1.3.2 pkg

I am not sure what to do next as I have connected everything up but can't get it to work.

Thanks

MacBook Pro (Retina, 13-inch,Early 2015), iOS 8.4.1

Posted on Sep 2, 2015 2:44 PM

10 replies

Sep 10, 2017 4:09 AM in response to JC1200

I just connected my old Clavinova to Logic X. I bought a Midi to Usb cable (TIE Studio Midi 1i1o).

My clavinova was bought long time ago - i think around 10 years - so it haven't got a usb- connection.

Be sure to connect as said before - do the "opposite" to what you think is correct

- Midi OUT in clavinova goes to cable connection labeled "IN". and the IN on the clavinova goes with the "OUT" connection on the cable.

Then there is the switch on Clavinova. My clavinova is 10 years old but i think its the same for most . "Midi,Pc-1, Pc-2,MAC". What i read its the "TO HOST" connection för the computer-modes (though different cable). I switched mine to "MIDI" - plugged the usb to my MacPro. It started to blink red - and i opened Logic and could play my Clavinova in Logic pro X.

Hope this is helpful.

This link helped me - it has all kinds of connections explained to clavinova.

"How do I connect the Clavinova to a computer? "

The midi section

(2. Using a MIDI interface device and the Clavinova’s MIDI connectors )

-->

http://www.dannychesnut.com/Music/Yamaha/Clavinova/Information/ComputerConnect/C laviPC_E.pdf

Sep 3, 2015 12:41 AM in response to JC1200

Let's start again.... don't purchase anything just yet.