Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

Compositing

Hey,

I'm relatively new to FCPX so apologises in advance if I use the incorrect terminology!

I've basically edited a video and I've been given a .mov of a graphic/backdrop to use underneath text that I'll be writing in the lower third. The best way to describe it, is in the Title option, its a bit like the 'gradient center' option, but its red and my client has had it especially made for us.

The .mov file is just the red backdrop that appears in the lower third and the rest of the screen is black/blank.

I'm putting the clip onto of the primary storyline and I can see the red background over the main images, but the red is a lot fainter than it should be and barely visible. The Opacity is at 100%, so I'm not really sure why its so faint.

Any idea on what I have to do to fix it?

Thanks so much in advance!

Ant

Final Cut Pro X

Posted on Sep 3, 2015 10:17 AM

5 replies

Sep 3, 2015 11:01 AM in response to AAntRW

Hard to tell without looking over your shoulder or being able to see the information Tom has requested. I can take a guess or two, though.

To achieve a proper composite, the file you have been given must have a proper alpha channel and you must properly interpret the alpha as straight when you import the media. If you already know how to do this then we need to figure out why your movie is not appearing as expected. It is also possible the movie was created using a weird color space like CMYK instead of RGB.

Try to answer Tom's questions and we';ll see what we can do for you.

Sep 3, 2015 11:58 AM in response to David Bogie Chq-1

Hi Guys,

Thank you so much for your reply - it's honestly must appreciated. I basically taught myself the basics of using FCP but situations like this have made me realise I need to properly learn how to use it!