Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

15-inch Retina MacBook Pro - How long should my battery last before replacement?

Hi all.

I have a 15-inch Retina MacBook Pro, and it recently came back from a repair with Apple, and it was noted that they put in a new battery.

Being a student, and needing my battery to hold the maximum amount of charge for as long as possible, I wanted to know...

What should I do to make the battery last long (lifespan, being that I want to make it last as long as possible before having to shell out hundreds for a new battery)?

How long should this battery last before I have to get it replaced?

I'm a student, going from lectures and moving around frequently... so I just wanted to know everything I should be doing to maximum lifespan, as well as making it hold a good charge for a long time, and basically just working as best as it can, holding the best charge / having a great lifespan, I hope that makes sense? I'm not sure exactly how to word it. I guess I could say I just want to make sure it has the maximum lifespan as possible with holding a great charge, as well as wanting to know how much time these usually are good for before having to send it in for a replacement battery, as well as wanting to know tips to maximize everything?

Thanks.

Additionally, I've included things from my system report, maybe someone could let me know if I'm doing anything wrong?:

Battery Information:

Model Information:

Serial Number: D865202Y005FWF8BG

Manufacturer: SMP

Device Name: bq20z451

Pack Lot Code: 0

PCB Lot Code: 0

Firmware Version: 702

Hardware Revision: 1

Cell Revision: 1206

Charge Information:

Charge Remaining (mAh): 8729

Fully Charged: No

Charging: Yes

Full Charge Capacity (mAh): 8854

Health Information:

Cycle Count: 4

Condition: Normal

Battery Installed: Yes

Amperage (mA): 466

Voltage (mV): 12806

MacBook Pro with Retina display, OS X Yosemite (10.10.3)