Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

Updating Mac OS 10.6.3 and keep getting stuck in the galaxy start up screen

I posted earlier, but had all the numbers wrong, so I'm posting again. I apologize.

I have a Mac that was purchased in 2010. It's Mac OS 10.6.3 and I'm trying to run updates. I've spoke with Apple and I ran a repair on my hard drive in disk utility. It came up as an error. So I completely reinstalled with my original disc. I verified hard drive and there aren't any more errors. So I went to run the updates again, but it's again stuck in the start up galaxy screen. It's been a couple hours. I'm not sure if this is normal? How long does it normally take? If it should be quick and not take as long as it has been taking, then I have no clue what could be wrong??

Any help would be greatly appreciated. I'm an online student, so I really need to get this issue solved ASAP.

Posted on Sep 3, 2015 2:25 PM

7 replies

Sep 3, 2015 2:28 PM in response to xoalibee

Quit the installation. Reboot from the installer disk. Do this:

Clean Install of Snow Leopard

1. Boot the computer using the Snow Leopard Installer Disc or the Disc 1 that came

with your computer. Insert the disc into the optical drive and restart the computer.

After the chime press and hold down the "C" key. Release the key when you see

a small spinning gear appear below the dark gray Apple logo.

2. After the installer loads select your language and click on the Continue

button. When the menu bar appears select Disk Utility from the Utilities menu.

After DU loads select the hard drive entry from the left side list (mfgr.'s ID and drive

size.) Click on the Partition tab in the DU main window. Set the number of

partitions to one (1) from the Partitions drop down menu, click on Options button

and select GUID, click on OK, then set the format type to MacOS Extended

(Journaled, if supported), then click on the Apply button.