Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

My home movies load, but won't start (home sharing)

Hi everyone,

I've been using AppleTV for the past five years, upgrading over the years from the previous versions that could only play 720p content to the latest unit, that can play 1080p movies. I have an iMac with four USB drives connected, holding some 6Tb+ of movies. Tthese are family vacation videos (encoded with H264 in 1080p at 23Mbps).

My ATV is connected to my iMac (10.9.5) (which runs iTunes 12.2 w/Home Sharing) via Gigabit Ethernet cable through the latest Airport Extreme.

Here is what works on my AppleTV:

- Netflix, iTunes Rentals, HBO Go - they all stream almost instantly and work fine. Running a Network Test through Settings confirms that streaming speed is not an issue.

The problem lies in Home Sharing. When attempting to play back some of the movies, they will indeed load - the ATV playhead will appear, and the load bar will grow quite quickly as the movie loads, but it never starts playing. The play/pause icon is the spinning "loading" animation. Pressing Play/Pause on the ATV remote does nothing.

These movies play just fine on my iMac, and just as well on my iPhone and iPad when using Videos -> Shared -> Home Sharing. They load almost instantly on my iPad Air 2. Attempting to "AirPlay" the movie off my iPad to my ATV causes the same issue. The screenshot of the movie in its current position will appear on the screen, so will the playhead. However, the spinning "loading" bar will remain and the movie won't start.

I'm able to skip chapters, and a screenshot off that chapter instantly appears on ATV, but it won't play.

Thus far, I have tried the following:

- Updated the software on my iMac

- Updated the software on my ATV

- Updated the software on my Airport Extreme (even though this has no effect, as my iMac and ATV are connected via ethernet)