Apple Event: May 7th at 7 am PT

Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

Double line on the bottom border of a cell

I am a CPA and I want to use Numbers for all of my spreadsheet work in my office. However, I cannot because I need to be able to use a double underline as the bottom border for a total at the end of a column of numbers - footing at the bottom of a column. This is a common need of all accountants. I know how to do this to double underline text, but cannot see how to do this for the bottom border of a cell. Any ideas on how this can be done very simply and in a professional looking manner? Thanks!

MacBook Pro (Retina, 13-inch, Mid 2014), OS X Yosemite (10.10.5)

Posted on Sep 19, 2015 11:25 AM

8 replies

Sep 19, 2015 1:51 PM in response to Sparkleberry

Yes, I have done that successfully - double underline only the text in a cell. But what I need to do is to place a double underline at the lower edge of the entire cell - it is a border issue - "bottom border double underline". A single line on the bottom border is easy - it is the double line that is giving me trouble. In Excel it is easy. I just cannot see how to make that happen in Numbers. Any ideas?

Sep 19, 2015 3:28 PM in response to Jeff.Tarver

Hi Jeff,

Numbers does not do this well. The best I can come up with is still two separate moves.

The first line you can do as the lower cell border.

The second still won't fill the cell but nearly. Text>Layout>Borders & Rules.

User uploaded file

There needs to be some text in the cell, if only a single space. In addition to setting the Offset at 5pt, I set the Text Inset to 0pt.

quinn

Sep 19, 2015 4:28 PM in response to Jeff.Tarver

Here is a workaround that gives you double lines that are of equal length fill the cells entirely. It takes advantage of the fact that you can paste images into the background of Numbers cells.

User uploaded file