Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

Xcode - How to enlarge all the text and icons

Hi,

I am trying to learn Xcode via online training courses. I am relatively new to Mac and am struggling with the small text and icons on my 27 inch iMac.

Its a problem on some other apps, like word or excel, but I just use my pc for those. Xcode I need to use the Mac. From the picture below, how do I increase the size of all the text (including the menu functions) and icons, but keep all the content there (i.e. no need to pan and scan).

I already go into Xcode, preferences, fonts and colors to increase the text in ViewController.

Thanks

User uploaded file

iMac, OS X Yosemite (10.10.5)

Posted on Sep 19, 2015 1:42 PM

5 replies

Sep 20, 2015 3:12 AM in response to Richard Mac User

Your screenshot is 2397x1345 px rather than the expected native 2560x1440 px.

Text and icons are noticeably blurry and a bit small, indicating that the image has been scaled down, presumably from 2560x1440 -> 2397x1345, resulting in a shrink to 93% in height and width.

You also have some odd tearing/multiple image artifacts in the screenshot (see the Bundle Identifier and Team controls). How did you take the screenshot? You can use cmd+shift+3 or the Grab app in Applications > Utilities to take screenshots.

Are you doing something odd on your end ?

Sep 22, 2015 6:16 AM in response to Richard Mac User

1. Close any projects you have open in Xcode (Otherwise the Font window will be inaccessible while a project is open.)
  2. Go to XCode > Preferences > Fonts & Color
  3. From the 'Theme' box select the theme you want to modify (or select the theme you want to modify and click the "+" button at the bottom of the theme list to clone it first for backup, for there is no undo option)
  4. In the source editor box there is a list of types of text that you may set the font for: Plain text Comments Documentation Comments . . .