Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

Why is my podcast not appearing in searches?

I have been creating an audio Podcast for over three years of the RSGB GB2RS News Broadcast each week on behalf of the Radio Society of Great Britain (RSGB) (this is to do with the Amateur, Ham Radio hobby in the UK) and all has been fine. I have just checked however and if I search on the podcasts iTunes name "GB2RS" (or in fact ay part of the title) it is no longer displayed in the search results, however a similar podcast created by a different team (TXTalk) is. I did have some issues with my feed (gb2rs.podbean.com) about 9 months ago and Podbean "cleaned" up some of the settings that I had defined there for the iTunes required fields - so it is possible this is when the problem was introduced.

I have just re-published the last edition, but this time with the iTunes fields set manually rather than taking defaults, so far I also cannot find this edition by searching in iTunes.

Those who are subscribed to the podcast are still receiving it but of course the fact that the iTunes search is not showing the podcast (as it used to) means that no new listeners are added.

Hopefully this is something that is easy to fix? Thanks in advance for any help.

Regards, Ed.

Posted on Sep 19, 2015 11:05 PM

5 replies

Sep 20, 2015 12:14 AM in response to edurrant

I'm afraid there's not much you can do. When a new podcast appears it can take some days before the Search will find it, but normally it does work OK once that's happened. As long as the title appears clearly it should be searchable, and the other tags are irrelevant to this. All I can suggest is that you contact Support, though I can't promise they will be helpful. Go to https://itunespodcasts.zendesk.com/hc/en-us/requests/new and click the disclosure triangle at the right of the 'Choose a topic' field - choose 'Other' and proceed from there.