Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

USB midi no longer working in iOS 9

For the past several years, I have created music on the iPad with a variety of apps (GarageBand and SampleTank, mainly) using the camera connector kit to use a Yamaha USB midi cable to connect my keyboard to my iPad. The setup worked flawlessly until iOS 9. I understand there has been a change in the Core Midi interface of the OS, and I assume this is the culprit. My setup no longer works with either app. My husband's iPad is still running 8.4 - I downloaded GarageBand on that and low and behold, the cable works as intended. He needs his iPad for work, and I need mine for my work. I am a musician and a playwright, and my livelihood depends on these accesories working properly. Can someone please help me figure out how to make this work? Or Apple, will you please change core midi back?? Thank you.

iPad 2 Wi-Fi, iOS 9

Posted on Sep 22, 2015 1:32 PM

4 replies

Sep 23, 2015 7:07 PM in response to JacobMills

I also use a midi keyboard & connect it to my iPads (iPad 2 & iPad Air 2) to make music. I use the camera connection kits and this cable:

http://www.amazon.ca/M-Audio-Midisport-Uno-MIDI-Interface/dp/B00007JRBM

Thankfully both my iPads still recognize my keyboard after the iOS 9 update. Perhaps you just need to change the cable?

Before getting a new cable, maybe try a General Reset of your iPad to see if that fixes the problem

Settings->General->Reset->Reset All Settings,

YOu won't lose any data but will have to customize certain settings again & also log back into your wifi network(s)

Sep 24, 2015 3:04 PM in response to jazcan