Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

iPhone International Warranty ?

Hi, I am a French exchange student in Taiwan until 06/16. I will be visiting Hong Kong this weekend and plan on buying an iPhone 6s since it's not available in Taiwan.

Will the iPhone be covered in Taiwan and then in France during its 1 Year warranty?

Also there are no Apple Store in the city I study (Kaohsiung) so if I need to be serviced will I have to send the device for repairing myself ?

Final question, depending on whether there is an international warranty or not. Since I'll be staying in 2 different countries during the 1year warranty, how do I get it to work ?

I spoke to a french Apple Expert, he stated that the phone will effectively be under warranty wherever I go for 1 year even if I buy it in HK. I spoke to a taiwanese Apple Expert, he stated that the phone won't be under warranty since there are only local warranties for iPhones.

On the French Terms& Agreement it's written that the phone can be serviced even abroad.

Can someone shed some light ? (with an official document)

Thank you

MacBook Air, OS X Mavericks (10.9.2)

Posted on Sep 29, 2015 1:59 AM

Question marked as Best reply

Posted on Sep 29, 2015 5:31 AM

The iphone warranty is only available within the country of purchase. If you need service, you will have to return it to the country (preferably the store) where you purchased it from.

Your French friend is probably referring to EU rules which state that that the terms of use for an item purchased from Apple in one member state are considered as being the same in all member states ... or in so many words.

As you have not bought the phone in France, their Terms and Conditions are irrelevant.

7 replies
Question marked as Best reply

Sep 29, 2015 5:31 AM in response to Wick-end