Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

10.2.2 crashing while previewing media

I am in a bachelor Degree Program and i have a assignments due, but FCPX keeps crashing on me. It is v 10.2.2. It does this when I preview imported content. If I reboot I am able to work for about 10 minutes and then it gives up the ghost on previewing imported content. Anyone else experiencing this? How to resolve?

It was doing the same thing in Yosemite, I upgraded to El Capitan. I am new to mac, but I am already very familiar with it since 1 year.

iMac, OS X El Capitan (10.11)

Posted on Oct 4, 2015 8:53 PM

Question marked as Best reply

Posted on Oct 5, 2015 6:01 AM

Start by deleting preferences: hold down command and option while starting FCP X, and confirm.

If it still crashes, try creating a new admin user account, and run FCP X in that account for a while. If it works ok there, then something in your own account is causing a conflict. Let us know how that goes.

8 replies

Oct 5, 2015 6:25 AM in response to Luis Sequeira1

I should have included a list of things I have tried already.

1. Started new Project 100 times.
  2. Trashed Preferences.
  3. Created New Admin Profile, repeated above.
  4. Tried 5 different USB 3.0 7200RPM external Hard Drives.
  5. Disconnected Audio Interface and used built in sound card.
  6. Upgraded OS to El Capitan
  7. Removed 3rd Party Plugins
  8. Reinstalled FCPX

My system is a Late 2012 iMac i5 and has 32 Gb of RAM, 512VRAM on NVIDIA GeForce GTX 660M