Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

Final Cut Pro X won't let me save to my external hard drive.

I have been using Final Cut Pro X for 2 years. I use an external hard drive to save my projects and events. I recently bought a new Mac Book Pro and downloaded the newest version of Final Cut. Now my external hard drive shows up in the import window but it is not an option when I try to move my projects and events. The only option that comes up is move to trash. Also the drive does not show up in the list of events/projects. My external hard drive is a G-Drive mini. My name is under "Sharing & Permissions" and it says "read and write". It is formatted "Mac OS Extended (Journaled)". Any idea how I can save my projects/events to this hard drive? Thanks!!

MacBook Pro with Retina display, OS X Yosemite (10.10.5)

Posted on Oct 6, 2015 7:59 AM

Question marked as Best reply

Posted on Oct 6, 2015 8:48 AM

Projects and events need to be in libraries. If you want a library to be on your drive, either: 1) create a new library from the File menu and save it to drive. Then move the event with the project to that library; or 2) in the Finder, copy the library that contains the projects and events you want moved to your new drive.

Russ

5 replies
Question marked as Best reply

Oct 6, 2015 8:48 AM in response to talia59

Projects and events need to be in libraries. If you want a library to be on your drive, either: 1) create a new library from the File menu and save it to drive. Then move the event with the project to that library; or 2) in the Finder, copy the library that contains the projects and events you want moved to your new drive.

Russ

Oct 6, 2015 8:47 AM in response to talia59

Since version 10.1, FCP X uses libraries to store events and projects. If you were using older versions (10.0.*) of FCP X, there was a significant change.