Newsroom Update

Beginning in May, a special Today at Apple series titled “Made for Business” will offer small business owners and entrepreneurs free opportunities to learn how Apple products and services can support their growth and success. Learn more >

Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

Net install Image not being found

Hello all,

IM new to OS x server and I'm trying to set up a netinstall image right now from the El Capitan installer. I've created the image, have it in the correct Server folder, and get the green light that my image is good to go. Thing is, I'm trying to set this up as a local network. The computer I'm running server on isn't touching the Internet. I have the server machine and the computer I'm trying to run the netinstall on plugged into the same switch, but the computer isn't seeing the netinstall image when holding down Option or N. Am I doing something wrong here, or is there something specific I need to do in server since the computer isn't touching the Internet? Basically I want to make the install only available to other computers plugged into the same switch.

Thanks!

iMac, OS X El Capitan (10.11)

Posted on Oct 6, 2015 9:50 AM

5 replies

Oct 6, 2015 10:32 AM in response to Saiio

I'm no network guru, but the only hardware I know that allows 2 computers to talk to each other without a router in between is with an ethernet crossover cable.

I don't know if you can just use a switch to create a Local Area Network without a router. If it's possible, you can try enabling DHCP on the Server to serve up IP addresses. I really don't know if that will work. You will know when you go into System Preferences/Network on each computer to check IP addresses and subnet.

Oct 6, 2015 8:16 PM in response to Saiio