Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

When do we get a StaffPad-like app for iPad?

So MS released StaffPad for the Surface. As a musician, I am way interested in this app, but nowhere near enough to purchase a Surface to get it. Is there some reason Apple can't create a similar product for music notation recognition?

Posted on Oct 9, 2015 1:18 PM

Question marked as Best reply

Posted on Jan 3, 2017 4:51 AM

Jan 3 2017 here.

A couple of days ago I bought notion for ios (ipad pro + pencil) and I think it's quite good. I don't know how it compares with staffpad today, but for simple things notion is just fine. By the way it needs a lot of improvements in order to become a strong and proficient handwriting tool for a professional composer.
The good news is that notion's developers seems to work hard for that and they release updates quite often with bug fix and news. In Notion's forum community you can also write what in your opinion should be fixed or improved and developers seems to care...

I think that this is the future of composing, and in 2-3 years we will have good software for iOS as well

13 replies
Question marked as Best reply

Jan 3, 2017 4:51 AM in response to David Checketts

Jan 3 2017 here.

A couple of days ago I bought notion for ios (ipad pro + pencil) and I think it's quite good. I don't know how it compares with staffpad today, but for simple things notion is just fine. By the way it needs a lot of improvements in order to become a strong and proficient handwriting tool for a professional composer.
The good news is that notion's developers seems to work hard for that and they release updates quite often with bug fix and news. In Notion's forum community you can also write what in your opinion should be fixed or improved and developers seems to care...

I think that this is the future of composing, and in 2-3 years we will have good software for iOS as well