Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

Why is this computer so slow?

I have the bottom of the line refurbed mini. It now takes a few minutes to open anything like a file or a webpage. The swirling lollipop of doom is a constant companion on my desktop.

I have been using macs since 1984, so I know just a tiny little bit about how to use a computer. I also loathe this company a great deal because I remember when their gear actually worked and they were not **** bent on collapsing the biosphere before 2020 (thanks to iPhone 6's and the practices apple employs to make them).

What is the trick? I cannot upgrade the RAM since it is soldered in. I cannot regress in Operating Systems because then apple will release ICBMs over my house. Should I just run one application at a time? Only use the internet on devices besides my computer? Buy a Windows box? Move to Ubuntu? dolls

My voodoo dolls are pointed squarely at Cupertino.

Posted on Oct 9, 2015 2:57 PM

3 replies

Oct 9, 2015 3:05 PM in response to Kimberella of Albuquerque

I purchased a Mac Book to add files, docs, etc and that helped. We also have Netgear so we can streamline to smart TV, but here is the catch- you can only get so many gigs a month and it is not much (despite paying almost 150. per month) - so the more used the slower it gets: both the TV Netflix AND the PC. Maybe this will help.

Oct 9, 2015 3:30 PM in response to Kimberella of Albuquerque

You may be able to have the internal storage drive (perhaps your low-end Mini has a hard disk drive

and not a solid-state-drive) upgraded to a faster data-transfer-rate device. A slow 5400-RPM HDD is

not going to help when tasked with handling temporary files, that may include 'virtual memory' when

the hardware does not have adequate random access memory in-chip on the logic board.

What are the specs of the Mini model you have?