Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

JPG files disappear when opened in Preview

So I recently installed OS X El Capitan and everything seemed to be going alright until I went to open some recently saved JPG files that I edited in Lightroom. I go to open the file, it opens in preview, and the picture disappears. The preview window is open, but is showing no photo. If I zoom in and out, the photo will show, but only briefly. I've discovered this now happens with every JPG file I have but not with RAW files. RAW files open perfectly fine. The JPG files can be opened in every other program without a hitch except for Preview. Has anyone had this issue yet? I'm still quite new to Mac so I really don't know where I would start for troubleshooting. The only thing I have done was run First Aid and obviously restarted.

MacBook Pro with Retina display, OS X El Capitan (10.11)

Posted on Oct 10, 2015 3:00 AM

29 replies

Oct 12, 2015 2:12 AM in response to Luis Sequeira1

Links to photos that will not open properly in El Capitan Preview.

1) Vertical photo, visible for few seconds with Preview in El Capitan, no problem in Yosemite.

https://www.dropbox.com/s/3l5hx01tfqkyqlp/LMP33671.jpg?dl=0

2) Horizontal photo that does not even totally open with Preview in El Capitan, and quickly closes. No problem in Yosemite Preview.

https://www.dropbox.com/s/39eyh1cje558z2z/LMP33696.jpg?dl=0

I have Yosemite in my MacPro 2009, where post processing was done using Lightroom CC.

The El Capitan is in my MacBook Retina 2013, and the photos from Dropbox files have this problem All vertical, some horisontals too.

Oct 12, 2015 2:48 AM in response to pajamies

As I suspected, both files open on my mac without trouble. I am running El Capitan. I don't have Lightroom in mac.