Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

Convert Grades to points and add up?

Hi,

I am a teacher and by assigning point value to grades I want to be able to see the average point score for all the subjects. I can then look at any one subject, and compare how well they did in it to their average grade score.

Here is my table with the total point score and then an average one at the end. Can anyone help with this?? I use a Lookup function for something similar, but that is only a single value; here it is multiple.

User uploaded file

Many thanks,

Greg

iMac, iOS 6.1.2

Posted on Oct 12, 2015 11:48 AM

Question marked as Best reply

Posted on Oct 12, 2015 1:07 PM

You could do something like this:

User uploaded file

The formula in M2:

=VLOOKUP(B2,Grade Value::$A:$B,2,0)

In K2:

=SUM(M2:U2)

In L2:

=AVERAGE(M2:U2)

You can hide columns M through U if you wish.

SG

Edit: If you want a letter grade "average" in L2 instead of a number grade you could try this:

=LOOKUP(AVERAGE(M2:U2),Grade Value::$B,Grade Value::$A)

5 replies
Question marked as Best reply

Oct 12, 2015 1:07 PM in response to KippMajors78

You could do something like this:

User uploaded file

The formula in M2:

=VLOOKUP(B2,Grade Value::$A:$B,2,0)

In K2:

=SUM(M2:U2)

In L2:

=AVERAGE(M2:U2)

You can hide columns M through U if you wish.

SG

Edit: If you want a letter grade "average" in L2 instead of a number grade you could try this:

=LOOKUP(AVERAGE(M2:U2),Grade Value::$B,Grade Value::$A)

Oct 12, 2015 1:17 PM in response to SGIII

Hi SG,

Thanks for the very swift response - looking at my previous posts, it always seems to be you that solves my problems! So many thanks to you!!!

One final query - as some students take more subjects that others, how do I account for the black subject spaces. Here it generates an error codes.