Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

looking for Mac OS 8.6. Where can I obtain this?

looking to obtain Mac OS 8.6 for a powerbook 1400cs.

PowerBook, Mac OS 8.6 or Earlier

Posted on Oct 15, 2015 1:17 PM

7 replies

Oct 16, 2015 10:07 AM in response to a brody

Hi a brody,

I have a powerbook 1400 cd with only 48MB of RAM. I read in a blog somewhere that 8.6 was faster than 9.1 on this type of machine. I do have a G3 processor in it (Sonnet). I actually have 9.2 which will not load. I used to be an apple developer back when the dinosaurs still roamed the earth but apparently did not keep my 8.6 system software developer's disk(s). I have not backed it up. I just got my CD ROM working by obtaining the OEM drive from Alan Computech International via Amazon. (They were the only folks who had a 19 year old replacement CD ROM. That's why I mention them because they only have a few left if someone else is interested.) So I am looking for 8.6 or 9.1 (I am running 8.5 now but I am using Conflict Catcher and I think it has substituted some original extensions/control panels making it difficult to connect to the Internet.) What software do you recommend to back up the 3GB hard drive? I used to use Retrospect.

Thanks,

classicmac1

Oct 16, 2015 2:17 PM in response to classicmac1

There was a Mac OS 8.6 update (US version http://download.info.apple.com/Apple_Support_Area/Apple_Software_Updates/English -North_American/Macintosh/System/Mac_OS_8.6_Update/Mac_OS_8.6_Update.smi.bin), but it required Mac OS 8.5 (which was not free).

Generally speaking, if necessary, file transfers to a PowerBook 1400 can be carried out on a CD-R, or on a CompactFlash card in a PC Card adapter for CF in a PC Card slot.

Oct 16, 2015 5:15 PM in response to classicmac1