Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

Macbook pro freezing after entering password

I have a MacBook Pro (15-inch, Mid 2009) Running El Capitan 10.11.1

I have four user accounts. I logged on normally into my main account and did some work. Walked away for an hour and when I returned, it was back at the login enter password screen (it had never done this before). When I entered my password, the small spoke appeared and spun for about two seconds and then froze on screen. Shortly after that the spinning beach ball also appeared and just kept spinning and spinning. I had to force quit by pressing the power button and have tried two or three more attempts to log on with the same results and no success. I can log in on the other three accounts with no problem. One of the other three is also an admin account, so I tried changing my password on the freezing account with no luck, same result.

Any ideas, Thanks.

I am new to the Apple Support Community.

MacBook Pro

Posted on Nov 14, 2015 10:06 AM

2 replies

Nov 14, 2015 1:08 PM in response to mthl44

Please take these steps while logged in as an administrator.

Launch the Console application in any of the following ways:

☞ Enter the first few letters of its name into a Spotlight search. Select it in the results (it should be at the top.)

☞ In the Finder, select Go ▹ Utilities from the menu bar, or press the key combination shift-command-U. The application is in the folder that opens.

☞ Open LaunchPad and start typing the name.

The title of the Console window should be All Messages. If it isn't, select

SYSTEM LOG QUERIES ▹ All Messages

from the log list on the left. If you don't see that list, select

View ▹ Show Log List

from the menu bar at the top of the screen.