Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

Shared Apple ID and legal

Hello,

isn't it illegal to buy apps under one personal Apple ID and use the same device backed up and restored to other devices in business or education environment? Terms and conditions states that, it is possible up to 10 devices, however can be exceeded.

I assume that it is illegal and VPP should be used, if it is available. What do you think about this?

Posted on Nov 26, 2015 11:29 AM

8 replies

Nov 27, 2015 12:37 PM in response to MikeICT

I am not a lawyer.

isn't it illegal to buy apps under one personal Apple ID and use the same device backed up and restored to other devices in business or education environment?

Just as long as all devices are used by the same person. I think the limit is 5 idevices with 5 other macs for a total of 10. With a shared device, you need a license per device. I do not know the ins and outs of free apps, but wouldn't think it would not be a big deal. [ would be OK. ]

look under contacts and trace down legal. Give call.

R

Nov 28, 2015 7:03 AM in response to rccharles

Thank you very much.

It is hard explained in terms and conditions, but the rule seems to be this: A single person can download and re-use unlimited amount of paid applications on his/her personal devices. Business or school has to distribute a separate license for every single employee/student, or shared mobile device.

Tell me, if it is wrong.

Nov 28, 2015 1:07 PM in response to rccharles

Here are the complete terms. Get a Lawyer who likes to read this stuff.

http://www.apple.com/legal/internet-services/itunes/us/terms.html#APPS

I do not think that apple has a distinction between private and business use. It's all on who uses the device.