Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

Wireless Problems with my Macbook pro

For a while I have been having problems connecting my 13" Macbook Pro to wireless networks. It never used to be an issue, but the problem has got gradually worse and now it is very hard to live with.

I can connect to wi-fi networks if I am within a meter or two of the router, anything beyond that and it won't connect or the connection will be intermittent. It often tells me there was a connection timeout error.

It is the case with all wifi networks, and other devices can connect perfectly. So I know the problem lies with the Mac.

I am not very tech savvy, and I have trawled through many different forums but I can't find a solution.

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

MacBook Pro, OS X Yosemite (10.10.5)

Posted on Nov 26, 2015 8:20 PM

3 replies

Nov 28, 2015 8:09 AM in response to wleach5

Hi wleach5,

Thank you for participating in the Apple Support Communities.

It sounds like your MacBook Pro is not reliably connecting to wireless networks. There are a few steps that I'd suggest trying first.

Start with Use Wireless Diagnostics to help you resolve Wi-Fi issues on your Mac, to see if Wireless Diagnostics can identify any issues with your Mac or network environment.

Next, create a new network location using the steps in Using network locations (Mac OS X v10.6 and later). With the new location selected, test your MacBook Pro on a few different Wi-Fi networks (if possible) and note if there's any change in the situation.

If there's no change with the previous steps, start up in safe mode and try again.

If the connection problems continue, let us know the results of the tests above and we'll go from there.

Safe Computing.

Dec 2, 2015 9:31 PM in response to jeremy_v

Hi Jeremy,