Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

Upgraded iPhone, Library and Syncing problems

Hi all, so here's a run down of the problem.

I have a MacPro with a very large iTunes library, a fraction of which fits on to my 32GB iPhone 4. The vast majority of this content is ripped from my large CD collection, only a little is purchased from the iTunes store. A little while ago my MacPro developed a malfunction which I believe is a graphics card failure so it now won't boot. I'm studying full time again and cannot afford to get this fixed yet so since it stopped working I've not synced my iPhone 4 (and can't).

My iPhone 4 has been on it's last legs for some time now and I was recently bought an iPhone 5s to replace it. I've got the new nano SIM. I have a 50GB iCloud account which I hoped 'd be able to back up my entire iPhone 4 to in order to transfer everything to my new 5s. Obviously I've recently discovered iCloud will only back up iTunes purchased music which, while being annoying, I can live without my entire library for a while until I fix my MacPro, but I really need to start using my iPhone 5s as the old phone is basically unusable due to slowness and terrible battery life.

So I backed up everything I could from my iPhone 4 to iCloud, popped the new nano SIM card in to my new iPhone 5s and tried to install the back up on to it from iCloud. It seems to work but then gets to a screen where I key in my passcode, the screen then goes totally white with "Swipe to Upgrade" at the bottom, but it won't swipe, the phone basically becomes unresponsive from this point onwards. Very frustrating.