Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

Have 27in Mac 10.6.8. Used fake Mac cleaner. Garage Office dissapeared

Hi Peeps, I'm a real novice concerning use of Mac.. Owned since October 2010. Got a message that I clicked onto for AppleMacCleaner! Was fake set up. Managed to not give monies at the last! Tried to trash all connections to fakes. Have lost Garage, Office and so much more! Keep getting messages when I attempt to use youtube stating my safari not up to date? Do not understand whats going on. Any advice appreciated. Thx

iMac (27-inch Late 2009), Mac OS X (10.6.8)

Posted on Nov 30, 2015 5:39 AM

Question marked as Best reply

Posted on Nov 30, 2015 7:32 AM

What advice are you seeking? Do you have a backup?

To learn how to use Time Machine read Use Time Machine to back up or restore your Mac.

Perhaps you inadvertently installed adware. For a description of how this may have occurred, how to avoid it in the future, and for Apple's recommended actions read How to install adware. Apple's instructions are linked in the Recovery Procedure near the end of that document. Read and follow them carefully. Pay particular attention to the easily overlooked passages directing you to restart your Mac when required.

Review your Gatekeeper settings: OS X : About Gatekeeper - Apple Support. Gatekeeper is designed to help prevent you from inadvertently installing garbage software.

5 replies
Question marked as Best reply

Nov 30, 2015 7:32 AM in response to Saffysearch

What advice are you seeking? Do you have a backup?

To learn how to use Time Machine read Use Time Machine to back up or restore your Mac.