Newsroom Update

Beginning in May, a special Today at Apple series titled “Made for Business” will offer small business owners and entrepreneurs free opportunities to learn how Apple products and services can support their growth and success. Learn more >

Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

server slow login

Hello.

I am a teacher and I am running a mac network. I have 30 iMacs on the network. All are 21.5 inch mid-2011. All have 2.5GHz intel i5 processors. All have 8GB of 1333 Mhz DDR3 RAM. The computer running the network is an mac-mini server mid 2011, 4gb 1333Mhz RAM, 2GHz i7 processor . All of the macs are running El Capitan 10.11.1.

I have set up the students in our school using OD via the server app (5.0.15). The server app only has 3 sections configured - Open Directory, File Sharing and Profile Manager. My mac network is connected to the rest of the school so that we can access the internet - nothing else.

I have been having problems for a while now, but today was really bad. Some of my students experienced waiting 20-40 minutes for the computer to login and then the computers performing really sluggish once they had. If I login to the local admin account however, the computers run like a dream.

I am a Music teacher and we regularly use these computers to use garageband. Garageband is also extremely sluggish when accounts have logged in.

I have spoken to the IT technicians who really struggle with macs as they have never used them and they tell me that DNS and DHCP are all done through their network so the mac mini has no control over these. I have looked things up and it has been suggested that this may be an issue???

I have also got my students to make sure that they un-tick reopen windows when logging back in as i thought there may be an issue there with the macs trying to open too many programs at login, but this doesn't seem to have worked.