Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

Any shortcut for select until next empty cell?

Hi,

I am new in numbers. I am looking for the shortcut for selecting cells until next empty cell.

The command + arrow will select the entire row or column.

Does anyone know this shortcut?

Numbers-OTHER, OS X El Capitan (10.11.1)

Posted on Dec 1, 2015 4:25 AM

11 replies

Dec 2, 2015 3:24 AM in response to Wayne Contello

Thank you for reply.

I like the look of numbers, so I tried to move from excel to numbers.

In excel, command + arrow will select all cells on the line until the empty one. It's an essential feature for me.

Maybe I can create an apple script to implement this feature. But I do not want to use any two step way to do this.

I guess I have no choice but give up numbers and go back to excel.

Dec 2, 2015 6:32 AM in response to black316

OK.

you select a range of cells by selecting the first cell, then holding the shift key while using the arrows

you can also select a range by selecting the first cell, then hold the shift key and click the last cell of the range

you can select from the current cell to the end a row (or column) by selecting the first cell then hold the shift key AND the command key, then use the arrow key to select the direction of the selection. This will select from the selected cell to the end of the column (down or up arrow) or row (left or right arrow)

you can always post feedback to Apple using the menu item "Numbers > Provide Numbers Feedback"

Dec 2, 2015 10:48 AM in response to black316

I use Excel a lot too, and was a bit confused when I started with Numbers. It sounds as if you are trying to use a Numbers table like an Excel sheet, a big expanse of cells where you have areas that are populated and "blank" areas in between so it's essential to be able to navigate to the next blank cell.