Apple Event: May 7th at 7 am PT

Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

Awk command on terminal

Hello,

I am new to the mac terminal. I am trying to make an awk command that searches through a series of .txt files for a specific word "Deet" . Since the files contain this word multiple times, I want the command to find the last "Deet" word and print the file name along with the word. How can I write this code? please Help?

MacBook Air (11-inch, Early 2014), iOS 9.1

Posted on Dec 1, 2015 12:30 PM

Question marked as Best reply

Posted on Dec 1, 2015 9:36 PM

Ordinarily, I stick with what is installed with OS X. This awk example uses GNU awk (gawk), and I have installed homebrew (brew) package manager on my OS X El Capitan, and then used brew install gawk to put it into /usr/local/bin.

Although awk on OS X accepts the ENDFILE syntax without error, it does nothing when the end of an individual file is reached. It does work in gawk though.

Here is the awk script that you run in the Terminal, and provide *.txt files on the command line. It will process every line in these files looking for Deet, and when it reaches the end of the given file (ENDFILE), it will print out the last captured DEET, and the current filename. I called the following script deet.awk, and you run it as:

./deet.awk *.txt

#!/usr/local/bin/gawk -f

#

# capture and print the last match for word in its file

function usage()

{

printf "Usage: %s *.txt\n", ENVIRON["_"]

}

BEGIN {

if (ARGC < 2) {

usage()

exit 1

}

}

/Deet/ { match($0, /(Deet)/, z);a = z[1];b=FILENAME }

ENDFILE { printf "%s\t%s\n", a, b }

END { exit }

Output:

odin: ~/awkism$ ./deet.awk *.txt

Deet test10.txt

Deet test25.txt

Deet test30.txt

Deet test45.txt

8 replies
Question marked as Best reply

Dec 1, 2015 9:36 PM in response to benyben23