Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

Logic Pro X 10.2.1 update system overload problem

I have been using Logic Pro X for two months on my new MacBook Pro with 16gb of RAM with no major problems. Just after updating to the 10.2.1 version, the programme cannot cope with a 26 track jingle I had been working on and constantly issues the "system overload" message. The LCD display shows CPU use at 50% when 5 to 10 tracks are being used and it's overwhelmed when the rest come into play for the Chorus. This had never happened before.

Checking the Activity Monitor while playing the song shows the computer is using ONLY 7GB of RAM of the 16GB I have (and this while having Safari open with many tabs and other Apps) and the CPU use is ONLY at 20%!

What has happened and how can I fix this? I need to work on this project urgently!

I may have learned the lesson never to update the software while working on a project whose deadline is fast approaching.

Disappointed.

MacBook Pro (Retina, 13-inch,Early 2015), OS X Yosemite (10.10.5)

Posted on Jan 22, 2016 5:42 AM

Question marked as Best reply

Posted on Jan 25, 2016 10:09 AM

I'm having the exact same issue and it's getting very very annoying

50 replies

Jan 25, 2016 12:26 PM in response to luraplitmur

I am having the same issue. macbook pro early 2011 17". with 10.2 songs, I can not even play them in 10.2.1 due to significantly increased CPU load with 10.2.1. Here is a screen shot of the exact same song playing in 10.2 and 10.2.1 at the exact same point in the song. This problem exists across all my songs and also when I create new ones. I have since deprecated back to 10.2 so I can work.

User uploaded file

Jan 25, 2016 4:16 PM in response to Plexus