Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

does anyone know if os 10.6 will boot on a late 2015 iMac?

does anyone know if os 10.6 will boot on a late 2015 iMac

iMac (Retina 5K, 27-inch, Late 2015), OS X El Capitan (10.11.3)

Posted on Feb 3, 2016 9:52 AM

Question marked as Best reply

Posted on Feb 4, 2016 5:30 AM

No, it will not.

8 replies

Feb 3, 2016 12:50 PM in response to mgtomko

If you must run SL on the 2015 mac, you can run Snow Leopard Server (not the Client version) in a VM such as VirtualBox or Parallels. Apple still sells SL Server for $20 if I recall correctly ... call 1-800-676-2775 (maybe they will transfer you) to get it.

But, as Allan Eckert said ... why do you need to run SL on a 2015 Mac?

Feb 4, 2016 7:20 AM in response to Allan Eckert

Well I'm a retired designer and I used to use Vectorworks 12 for cad drawings. Occasionally I like to print up old designs or work on other little projects. Updates to VW are out of my price range now, since I don't use it that often. So I've been using a SL Startup disk on my old Mac Pro to work in the program. I've just traded the old mac for a new 27" iMac and the disk wouldn't boot so, after the fact i kinda figured out that the new architecture may not work with SL. I really appreciate your response. Thanks Allan

Feb 4, 2016 7:21 AM in response to steve359

Well I'm a retired designer and I used to use Vectorworks 12 for cad drawings. Occasionally I like to print up old designs or work on other little projects. Updates to VW are out of my price range now, since I don't use it that often. So I've been using a SL Startup disk on my old Mac Pro to work in the program. I've just traded the old mac for a new 27" iMac and the disk wouldn't boot so, after the fact i kinda figured out that the new architecture may not work with SL. I really appreciate your response, and will look into your suggestions. Thanks Steve