Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

Internal HD won't mount in Recovery Mode

I have an 11' MBA that said I had to repair the disk. Easy repair right? So I restarted the computer and get into Recovery Mode to do a repair in Disk Utility and the HD is grayed out. I cannot select it, nothing. I ended up installing El Capitan and during the install it completed the repairs, but I still cannot get to the HD in repair mode. The computer boots and runs fine otherwise. I should note that the HD is an aftermarket Transcend that we replaced about a year ago. My customer now wants to wipe the computer and give it to a family member, but as I stated before I cannot do a clean erase and install through recovery mode. Any ideas?

Thanks in advance!

Rob

Posted on Feb 5, 2016 2:40 PM

7 replies

Feb 5, 2016 3:05 PM in response to rlyman1

What version of OS X was pre-installed when it was new? If you plan on giving it away, then you need to erase the drive and install the version that csme with the computer. if it was on DVD, then you need the installer discs.

Before Selling or Giving Away Your Pre-Lion Mac

Follow these instructions until you get to Step 5:

What to do before selling or giving away your Mac - Apple Support

When you reach Step 5 you will need your Snow Leopard or earlier installer disc that came with the computer when it was new.

Follow these steps for installing the original version of OS that came with the computer.

1. Boot the computer using the Snow Leopard Installer Disc or the Disc 1 that came

with your computer. Insert the disc into the optical drive and restart the computer.

After the chime press and hold down the "C" key. Release the key when you see

a small spinning gear appear below the dark gray Apple logo.

2. After the installer loads select your language and click on the Continue

button. When the menu bar appears select Disk Utility from the Utilities menu.