Want to highlight a helpful answer? Upvote!

Did someone help you, or did an answer or User Tip resolve your issue? Upvote by selecting the upvote arrow. Your feedback helps others! Learn more about when to upvote >

Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

Time Machine – reformatting drive problem

Hi,

I have recently started using a new external drive for Time Machine with encryption. I would like to encrypt another drive that I have been using for Time Machine for several years without encryption. So, I went to Disk Utilities etc. and reformatted the drive. Everything seemed to go ok, except that when I open Time Machine (and it does that 1970s “Dr Who” thing!), it seems to be “remembering” some earlier back-ups, although it won’t let me access them. Surely, the drive could not have been formatted properly.

I notice that in Utilities, is shows the disc has two “levels”, both of the same name – as if “a folder in a folder”. I suppose this relates to the disc having one partition, but I'm not sure. The "lower” item can be reformatted, but the top item cannot. I want to delete the whole disc and start again. Please can anyone advise me on what to do / what I am doing wrong?

Related to this: I noticed that the disc can be encrypted in Disc Utilities when being formatted, although I had ignored that and encrypted it in Time Machine instead. Does it make a difference?

Thank you!

OS X Mavericks (10.9.5)

Posted on Feb 6, 2016 6:36 AM

Question marked as Best reply

Posted on Feb 13, 2016 2:28 AM

While in Time Machine, to see all mounted volumes shift - command - c. Information learned from Linc Davis.

What happens when you select the top drive?

9 replies

Feb 11, 2016 7:50 AM in response to Eric Root

Hi Eric,

Thanks for your comments and suggestions. It was the lower partition that I was trying to erase. Actually, I tried both but originally was only able to erase the lower partition.