Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

Mac OS X El Capitan telnet client reports "connected", but TCP three-way handshake not complete.

I'm a network engineer, and I'm starting to think that switching from a PC to a Mac just wasn't a good choice.

I discovered that the telnet client on my Mac reports that it's "connected" when it actually isn't. I'm trying to establish a TCP connection to another host on my network that isn't listening on the port I'm trying to connect to, but Mac still reports that it's "connected". I ran a WireShark trace and only saw the SYN packet, but no SYN-ACK packet from the remote host... and yet the telnet client is saying that it's "connected". If I type anything into the prompt when it's "connected", I don't see any of those packets actually being sent from my Mac to the remote host.

I also confirmed this by installing SecureCRT on the Mac - when I try to telnet to the same host on the same port, it never connects.

Is there something that I can do to change the behavior of the Mac telnet client? I'm wondering what other people have done to workaround this annoyance? Using the Windows telnet client, it would never report that it was connected if the TCP three-way handshake did not complete.

MacBook Pro with Retina display, OS X El Capitan (10.11.3)

Posted on Feb 6, 2016 12:53 PM

10 replies

Feb 6, 2016 5:09 PM in response to jeff0000

1. This procedure is a diagnostic test. It changes nothing, for better or worse, and therefore will not, in itself, solve the problem. But with the aid of the test results, the solution may take a few minutes, instead of hours or days.

The test works on OS X 10.8 ("Mountain Lion") and later. I don't recommend running it on older versions of OS X. It will do no harm, but it won't do much good either.