Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

My podcast is tagged as explicit but showing as clean in iTunes

I'm very new to iTunes and podcasting. My podcast was just approved, and even though I have it tagged as explicit in Wordpress, it is showing as clean in iTunes. Any way to fix this? I don't want to get flagged for not labeling it correctly.

Here's my podcast: https://itunes.apple.com/us/podcast/home-for-geriatric-terriers/id1082162375

And here's my RRS link: https://geriatricterriers.com/category/podcast/feed/

Let me know if you need any other information.

Thanks!

https://itunes.apple.com/us/podcast/home-for-geriatric-terriers/id1082162375

Posted on Feb 7, 2016 1:47 PM

8 replies

Feb 7, 2016 1:54 PM in response to geriatricterriers

You have set the 'itunes:explicit' tag to 'yes' for the overall podcast, but your episode has the 'itunes:explicit' tag set to 'no'. You must flag each episode where it contains explicit themes or language.

You have constructed your podcast in Wordpress, and someone was complaining only a couple of days ago that he was unable to flag his episode using Wordpress (and that they told him it had to be done in the file's ID3 tag, which is rubbish). However the last I heard was that Wordpress had agreed there was a problem at their end (see the last post in the thread) so possibly you may find you can do this.

You need to do this with some despatch, because I have to warn you that having an episode containing explicit language but not flagged as such (irrespective of the overall flag) is grounds for your podcast being removed from the Store, so you should try to get this corrected before the Store staff notice.

Feb 9, 2016 6:00 AM in response to Roger Wilmut1

I received instructions from Wordpress on how to tag individual episodes as explicit. Apparently it requires a separate app that will add the explicit tag to the mp3 file itself. Here is the link they sent me.