Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

Signing out of ipad warning.

I'm new to using an ipad. I set up my icloud account, but when I went to "sign out" I got a pop up warning box that says "Deleting this account will remove it's data from your ipad." Continue or Cancel. What? I'm not trying to delete the account.

I was under the impression that I would be "signing in and out" of the icloud as I needed to go into or out of it. Like we do with most everything. Sign in when you needed to get to it's contents and sign out when you're done. All the while it's running in the background storing stuff.

Are we not suppose to sign in and out of our icloud? We sign in and out of say itunes and ibooks. If someone is using my ipad they can't make a purchase because I sign in and out and they don't have my password. So it just seems the icloud should be signed in and out of...so if someone is using my ipad they can't do anything to my iclouds content or it's settings.

What am I not understanding? Do we always stay signed in to the icloud? Thanks in advance.

iPad Air

Posted on Feb 7, 2016 2:39 PM

Question marked as Best reply

Posted on Feb 7, 2016 9:14 PM

An iCloud backup is initiated from a device that is signed into iCloud, so if you sign out, then until you sign back in, no further backups will be done. Any backups that you already have done will remain intact, however.