Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

What is the fast way of importing the MP3 library on my Seagate Central NAS into iTunes on my MacBook Pro?

Hi all,

I’m hoping someone may be able to help me as I haven’t been able to find a definitive answer so far.

My question is: what is the fast way of importing the MP3 library on my Seagate Central NAS into iTunes on my MacBook Pro?

Here are some more details:

• The Seagate Central is connected to my BT HomeHub 5 router via Ethernet cable.
  • I have a fibre broadband connection (although I don’t know if this is relevant in this instance).
  • There is no physical connection between the MacBook and the router. I’m doing it all over WiFi.
  • My MP3 library is is too large for the MacBook so I would like to keep these on the NAS. I don't know the actual size as it just says "calculating size" when i select "get info".
  • I am new to the MacBook having just made the switch from a Windows based PC.
  • I am not sure whether the iTunes Media Folder should be located on the MacBook or on the NAS (and what options in ‘Preferences’ I should tick)
  • I have tried just dragging various albums from the NAS into iTunes but I just get the ‘spinning wheel of death’ and it appears to freeze up (or just take a ridiculously long time).

If anyone can provide any help or advice I would really appreciate it.

Many thanks,

Streety82

MacBook Pro (Retina, 13-inch,Early 2015)

Posted on Feb 10, 2016 12:04 PM

2 replies

Feb 10, 2016 12:25 PM in response to Streety82

You can change where iTunes "looks" for the iTunes Media folder. Similarly, you can have two different Libraries, but iTunes can only see one at a time.

You can open a different Library by holding Shift while you launch iTunes