Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

How do I optimise my MacBook Pro's battery?

Hey,

I just purchased a brand new MacBook Pro 2015 13inch and I love it so far! Mainly, I purchased it to use it at the University since I'm studying Architecture and I was told that MacBook Pro are great for that.

Anyway, since I always take goof care of my stuff I wanna know how to optimise my MacBook Pro's battery? Is it true that whenever I have my MacBook Pro plugged in to the charger and it reaches the max (100%) the charger stops charging? Also, should I turn off or put it to Sleep when I'm not using it?

I've read online some tips, but I just wanna make sure that everything its clear. I have a lot of questions to be honest, but if someone can give a brief explanation I would really appreciate it!

Thanks in advanced.

MacBook Pro with Retina display, OS X El Capitan (10.11.3)

Posted on Feb 12, 2016 5:23 PM

Question marked as Best reply

Posted on Feb 12, 2016 6:21 PM

Hi Josetroti:

When you leave your MacBook Pro plugged in, it will stop charging automatically when it reaches 100%. There is not need to unplug it.

I turn my Macbook Pro on in the morning and leave it on unless I am going out for a few hours in which case I will power it off.

At night I power it off. I don't use sleep mode, as with the SSD drives the Macbook boots up very quickly. But that is just my preference.

I have heard that if you leave your computer plugged in all the time, that a least once a month you should let it run down to about 30% and then recharge it.

It is not good to let it go down lower than 10%.

Here are some tips about battery usage. About Mac notebook batteries - Apple Support

9 replies
Question marked as Best reply

Feb 12, 2016 6:21 PM in response to Josetroti

Hi Josetroti:

When you leave your MacBook Pro plugged in, it will stop charging automatically when it reaches 100%. There is not need to unplug it.