Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

Recovering Photos

Advice please!

OK after nearly a decade, my iMac has gone to join Steve Jobs in "icloud pearly heaven". Its died, never to be recovered, according to the Apple Shop.

I have a variety of other mac devices: iphones, ipads, macbooks.

I had (fairly recently) also backed up everything, including all my files - so lucky me. Most of the files are sitting in hard drives piggy backed to my Airport Time Capsule.

But the most valuable thing of all is the photos, of which I have thousands and thousands. Mostly family and friends, adventures, and memories. I am no professional. Luckily, I have all these backed up too, however...

I was using Aperture to manage my photos. Apple no longer supports Aperture, and they have released Photo for Mac.

So I have photos in several places:

• A hardd drive containing Aperture Masters (most photos are here)
  • Another hard drive containing the Time Machine (unfortuanely this seems to have stopped in July 2015)
  • Luckily I have most of my photos from 2015 on my macbook Pro in Photo’s

1. So how do I now consolidate all this? Literally, what now?

Just to add to the question, I think it is time to upgrade to Icloud Photo Library. Ive looked up the costs of maintaining these in the icloud:

Australia (AUD) 50 GB: $1.49
200 GB: $4.49
1 TB: $14.99

As I have over 200GB, I guess I am up for $15 a month equating to $180 a year. Expensive but files are accessible from everywhere, on all devices, and never have to go through this pain and wondering what to do when your computer or hard drive dies. Also In Australia a new 1TB hard drive is worth about $100 to buy (a little less).

2. Comments on place to store photos?

MacBook Pro with Retina display, iOS 9.2.1

Posted on Feb 12, 2016 11:31 PM

Question marked as Best reply

Posted on Feb 13, 2016 12:47 AM